Uncle Step needs YOU… to check out RPG Museum!

It’s been quite a while since I last updated the blog, but I’ve been no less busy with roleplaying, thank Heavens. I’ve been playing in an absurd number of games pretty much consistently since my last post, which is delightful, and we successfully concluded the campaign of The Veil I was running. (The players were successful, that is, not the characters, which feels fairly suitable for cyberpunk and our campaign specifically.)

Other than that, I’ve been doing something a bit different: editing!

Two kinds of editing, in fact.

First of all, I edited Risky Things to do with Sorcery, a 7th Sea supplement by Michael Duxbury, which is now available for purchase on DriveThruRPG. I got involved initially as a playtester for his new rules for Fate Witch duels (give it a try: it’s fun but brutal!), but ended up doing a fairly thorough sense edit and copy edit of the final product. I’m perhaps biased, but I think it’s an incredibly useful supplement for 7th Sea GMs, and I wish I’d had it when I was running a campaign. I’m also really proud because it’s the first time I’ve got my name in a published-for-real-money RPG product and been credited for anything other than playtesting or backing by Kickstarter.

But the other kind of editing I’ve been doing is wiki editing! Early last year, I was talking to folks on Twitter about how great it would be to have some central repository of RPG design, theory, and other accumulated learning. I suggested a wiki, but I never acted on it until one day I found that such a wiki already exists! It’s called the RPG Museum and it desperately needs some love. I’ve been doing what I can, and I’m already seeing some improvements, but it would be fantastic if anyone else with an interest in RPG theory, design, history, culture, GMing, roleplaying, etc. could join in and help out. There’s plenty to do.

Here are some of the things I’ve already worked on:

A pretty big variety of things, I hope you agree! Maybe you’ll find these examples useful, but even these pages are almost certainly incomplete or need some tweaking, and there are plenty of other things that we don’t have any pages for at all yet. For example, we’ve barely even started on pages about individual games, publications, and game designers (and there’s quite a few of those that we might be able to lift from a certain other big encyclopedic wiki, just saying). How funny would it be if someone came and wrote a page about themselves or the games they’ve designed?

I’m very excited about the possibilities of this wiki, and I hope some of you come along and share that excitement with me!

Leave a comment