RPGaDay 2017, Day 30: What is an RPG genre mashup you would most like to see?

RPGaDay 2017 infographic

RPGaDay is an annual celebration of tabletop roleplaying. This is the first year I’ve tried to do it.

What is an RPG genre mashup you would most like to see?

I don’t understand the question. If it’s asking what genre I would like to adapted into an RPG, then I want something that can do wide-reaching ensemble drama shows with multiple intersecting storylines. Something like The Wire, Game of Thrones, Heroes, or The Expanse. Plus a bunch of other ones that I can’t recall right now. I think there are games out there that you could hack to do something similar (I’ve had thoughts around doing this with Microscope, for example), but there’s nothing I’m aware of that’s designed around the concept, and I think that could be cool.

One thought on “RPGaDay 2017, Day 30: What is an RPG genre mashup you would most like to see?

  1. mpduxbury September 5, 2017 / 2:45 pm

    “HBO Ensemble Dramas” was supposed to be the design goal for Hillfolk. It doesn’t do multi-location stuff though; more like Deadwood or The Sopranos than Game of Thrones or The Wire.

    Like

Leave a Reply

