RPGaDay 2017, Day 12: Which RPG has the most inspiring interior art?

RPGaDay 2017 infographic

RPGaDay is an annual celebration of tabletop roleplaying. This is the first year I’ve tried to do it.

Which RPG has the most inspiring interior art?

Example female half-elf from D&D 4e PHBThere’s no way of answering this in an objective way. There are so many RPGs with art that is evocative or appropriate or just plain badass. Too many for me to count, let alone name. Instead, I have to be completely subjective and pick the one RPG I’ve played in which the inspiration for my character came directly from the artwork: the 4th edition of Dungeons & Dragons. Specifically, the example female half-elf from the Player’s Handbook (right). Just look at the contempt on that face. It’s glorious.

The wider picture is apparently of a martial class (fighter or rogue, I guess), but I played a warlock who had made a deal in infancy with an archfey. She was raised by humans but convinced (on the basis of no real evidence) that she was the daughter of some powerful lord of the Feywild. She was one of my first RPG characters after rejoining the hobby and I made some critical errors in designing her (she had the highest Charisma in the party but rarely bothered to talk to people, for instance), so I was not quite able to capture the awesome of the image when I played the character, but I was satisfied with the campaign anyway. The last we ever saw of her she was leaping recklessly into the Feywild, heedless of the fact that there would be no way back again. She’s probably still there, I guess.

Leave a Reply

