RPGaDay 2017, Day 8: What is a good RPG to play for sessions of 2 hours or less?

RPGaDay 2017 infographic

RPGaDay is an annual celebration of tabletop roleplaying. This is the first year I’ve tried to do it.

What is a good RPG to play for sessions of 2 hours or less?

Thinking about it, I’m not entirely sure I’ve ever played a full RPG session that lasted no more than 2 hours. I’ve played sessions that were called off, but that’s different. My sessions typically last between 3 and 6 hours, with the average being around 4. For sessions in the middle of an ongoing campaign, any game system that doesn’t determine length of sessions mechanically could have a satisfying session under 2 hours.

In general, though, the game I think of when I need to fill an arbitrary amount of time is Microscope. In Microscope, the rule is to just keep playing until you don’t want to any more. It can be as long or as short as you want, although more players will mean that each player has less time in the spotlight. That problem is hardly unique to Microscope, though, so it’s still what I’ll pick for my answer.

Leave a Reply

